Anston Park Infant School

Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS curriculum covers different areas of learning. There are 7 areas of learning: 

Prime areas -

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Communication and Language 

Physical Development

Specific areas -



Understanding the World Expressive

 Arts and Design

The areas of learning are subdivided into 17 aspects. These are divided into overlapping age bands that culminate in the early learning goals (ELGs). It is expected that all children achieve all the ELGs by the end of F2.

Prime areas 

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

 Self-confidence and self-awareness, Managing feelings and behaviour and Making relationships 

Communication and Language

 Listening and attention, Understanding and Speaking

 Physical Development 

 Moving and handling and Health and self-care

 Specific areas 


 Reading and Writing 


Numbers and Shape, space and measures

 Understanding the World 

 People and communities and The world 

Technology Expressive Art and Design

 Exploring and using media and material and Being imaginative

The EYFS curriculum also highlights how young children learn, and calls these the characteristics of effective learning. These are: Playing and exploring Active learning, Creating and Thinking Critically.

 For more information please see the links below:




 API Prospectus Statement for EYFS.pdfDownload
 API Reading Spine for EYFS.pdfDownload
 EYFS Framework.pdfDownload
 EYFS Maths Support Booklet for Parents.pdfDownload
 EYFS Parent Talk Feedback.pdfDownload
 EYFS Phonic Parent Workshop Feedback.pdfDownload
 Phase 3 Sound Mat.pdfDownload
 Spring Data 2020 EYFS.pdfDownload
 Trick Words.pdfDownload
Showing 1-9 of 9